Dealing in Futures by Joe Haldeman

Dealing in FuturesThis short story collection by Hugo and Nebula winning author Joe Haldeman contains some of his best short stories. “More Than the Sum of His Parts” is a science fiction horror story, in the vein of Frankenstein and The Invisible Man. A man is badly burned in an accident and has an arm, half his face, and various other tissues and organs replaced with powerful prosthetic parts. Invariably, power corrupts him.

The most worthwhile read in the anthology is “You Can Never Go Home.” This short story is, in actuality, the second part of Haldeman’s novel The Forever War. Haldeman’s first draft was regarded as too depressing, by his editor. “You Can Never Go Home” is a Vietnam era narrative set on earth between linked war stories; it describes the alienation and confusion of soldiers returning to a homeland they scarce recognize. Haldeman’s anthology contains many other good reads, i.e. ” Lindsay and the Red City Blues” and “Manifest Destiny.” I highly recommend Dealing in Futures.

Availability: USMAI
Review Submitted by: Kevin Oldfield
Rating: Highly Recommended

Submit your review or comments here.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s