Divergent by Veronica Roth

DivergentErudites, who believe that intelligence is vital. The Candor people, who believe that honesty creates trust and loyalty. Amity, who believe that peace creates no evil. Dauntless, who believe that with bravery comes light. And Abnegation, the group that considered selfishness to be the root of all evil. These five factions are the whole of the country in which Divergent is set. Within it, there is Beatrice, an Abnegation who never really fit in, but believes in the way of her faction. Beatrice and her brother Caleb both are of age to attend the Choosing Ceremony, the event in which one may choose to stay with their faction or defect to another. But before that, they must take an aptitude test to see which factions they belong most in. Caleb, although seemingly perfect for Abnegation, is fit to Erudite for his interest in learning more. Beatrice on the other hand, is labeled as Divergent and told to tell no one of her placement. Read the book to find out what it is to be Divergent, and what it means for the nation.

Recommendation: A good summer read!

Availability: SMCM Library, USMAI and COSMOS
Review Submitted by:  Andrew Lachkovic
Rating: Highly Recommended

Submit your review or comments here.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s