The Magician’s Land by Lev Grossman

The Magician's Land

The Magician’s Land is the third book in the Magicians Trilogy by Lev. Grossman. With several years spanning between releases, recalling key characters and plot points between books was difficult. Additionally, Grossman’s writing style has slightly altered and throughout the book I could not help feeling like he was trying to skew younger and be “cooler” with each reference. I found this book extremely difficult to get into and even complete. The plot comes off as disjointed and many aspects of the book that I thought were major ended up being resolved rather anti-climatically. A friend recommended the book (and series) to me, which encouraged me to finish it. I am glad I finished it as I feel resolved in the story line from the first two novels. I suggest those wanting to read this book ensure that they read it soon after reading the first two, or look up detailed summaries of the predecessors beforehand.

Availability: COSMOS, SMCM, USMAI
Review Submitted by: Sarah Polgreen
Rating: Recommended with Reservations
Challenge: A book recommended by a friend

Submit your review or comments here.

