The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkein

The Hobbit
I admit it: I lived under a rock for 19 years and never bothered to venture into the LOTR mythos (with the exception of being dragged to see the second installation of The Hobbit a few Christmases ago.) I’m slowly but surely remedying this now. The funny part about this book, I suppose, is that it would take me longer to watch all three (?!?!?!?!?) movies than it took me to read the book. I generally enjoyed this book, although I felt that it got pretty slow and boring in places and (as was my critique of the movie) the quest seemed rather repetitive. (“We get it,” I remarked in the movie theatre, “everyone hates dwarves!”) I adored Bilbo though, and it definitely piqued my curiosity for LOTR proper. I would recommend, but I imagine I might be the last person in the world to hop on this particular bandwagon. So, recommended if you want a taste of Middle Earth before diving into the trilogy.

Availability:  USMAI and COSMOS
Review Submitted by:  Molly McGowan
Rating:  Recommended

Submit your review or comments here.

