Dead Man’s Chest by Kerry Greenwood

Dead Man's ChestThis is the 18th book in the Phryne Fisher Mystery series and follows Murder on a Midsummer Night. After the events of Murder on a Midsummer Night, Phryne decides to remodel her house so she packs up Dot, her companion, and her two adopted daughters to go to the seaside for a month. When she arrives, the house she has rented is bare of servants and any food and the owner is off on an archeological expedition. Phryne and her family decide to cope and Ruth, whose dream it is to become a cook, finds a cookbook and decides to prepare all the meals. In the process, Phryne meets a very nosey next-door neighbor, takes in a street urchin she calls Tinker, and adopts the dog who belonged to the missing housekeeper and butler.

All is not well at the seaside. In addition to the missing servants, The Snipper is sneaking up behind young girls and cutting off their long braids. A movie company is filming a pirate movie and the town, which believes that pirate treasure is buried somewhere nearby, is out digging for treasure. Phryne, with the help of Tinker, solves the mystery of the missing servants. Dot’s police constable fiancé comes to town to uncover an alcohol smuggling operation, The Snipper is uncovered and Phryne finds the treasure chest, hence the title of the book. This was one of my favorite in the series, partially because the characters of Jane and Ruth were more fully developed.

Availability: COSMOS
Review Submitted by: Rosalind Woolbright
Rating: Highly Recommended if you like light mysteries.

Submit your review or comments here.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s