Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk by David Sedaris

Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk After going to the Mark Twain Lecture with David Sedaris this year, I wanted to read one of his books very badly. His talk had been so insanely hilarious, captivating, and inspiring that I wanted to see if his books would be just as good. I must admit, Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk was a little different than what I had expected, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. Rather than personal stories or reflections on current events, Sedaris created a series of parodies and anecdotes using animals to make fun of and examine many of the actions, thoughts, and behaviors of humans. The only reason that I am recommending this book with reservations is because I’m not sure if it is the best book for those who are highly sensitive, easily offended, or unappreciative of crude humor. I don’t consider myself to be any of those things, but there were still instances and whole stories that had me shaking my head and remarking on how “just not right” certain statements were. However, many of the stories were, in my opinion, perfect analyses of American culture and human society and were explored in ways that were absolutely hysterical.

Availability: COSMOS, USMAI, SMCM
Submitted by: Breanna Thorne
Rating: Recommended with reservations

Submit your review or comments here.

